Public interest group

Email This Page
The Institut Polaire Français Paul-Emile Victor is a public interest group (GIP) whose members are the major player organizations in French polar scientific research:
  • the French Ministry of Education, Higher Education and Research (MENESR),
  • the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Development (MAEE),
  • the Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS),
  • French Research Institute for Exploitation of the Sea (Ifremer),
  • the French Alternative Energies and Atomic Energy Commission (CEA),
  • Centre national d’études spatiales (CNES),
  • Météo-France,
  • the French Southern and Antarctic Lands (TAAF)Arc-GwendalSTEPHAN-IPEV-25

The running of the French Polar Institute GIP is organized around its Directorate and its Council for Polar Science and Technology Programmes (CPST).

The Directorate

Ant-DumontDUrville-Equipe-EduardoDAFORNO-2014-IPEV (15)The Institute is administrated by a Directorate composed of representatives of the public interest group’s member organizations signatory to the constitution agreement. Every Institute member designates a statutory administrator to represent it, having votes corresponding to the rights mentioned in the convention.Other participants in the Directorate, in a consultative capacity, are as follows

  • A representative of the Minister for the Budget
  • A representative of the Minister for the Environment
  • A representative of the Minister for Overseas Départements and Territories
  • The government commissioner
  • The State Controller
  • The Director of the Institute
  • Two eminent outside figures designated by the Directorate for their expertise

Administrators have a 4-year renewable mandate. The Directorate elects its Chair from among the outside figures for a renewable 4-year term.

The Directorate’s role covers the following responsibilities:

  • examine and set the Institute’s major Science and Technology Strategy,
  • decide the annual operations programme and corresponding budget, including recruitment planning where necessary,
  • approve the accounts for each financial year,
  • appointment of outside figures,
  • election and termination of office of the Chair of the Directorate,
  • appointment and termination of office of the Director,
  • appointment and termination of office of Members of the Council for Polar Science and Technology Programmes,
  • authorization for the French Polar Institute’s stake acquisition in other legal entities,
  • concluding contracts for amounts exceeding the Directorate’s pre-set sum and making joint agreements with enterprises or organizations from beyond the interest-group’s Members
  • approval of the Directorate’s rules of procedure and financial rules and regulations.

The Directorate appoints a Director for a renewable term of 4 years. It also has the authority to terminate the Director’s term of office. If that mandate is interrupted, whatever the cause, the Director is substituted for the time of the mandate that remains. He or she attends General and Directorate meetings with a consultative vote.

The Director is responsible for running the Institute under the authority of the Directorate, and under the terms and conditions the latter fixes. The Director must deliver an Annual report to the Directorate.

Ant-DumontDurville-Base-EduardoDAFORNO-2014-IPEV-87The Director is assisted by:

  • an Administration and Finance Director,
  • a Scientific Programme Director responsible for the implementation of research projects the Institute supports, in liasion with national and international research organizations.

These directors can take the role of Deputy Director of the Institute. The Institute Director can delegate his or her signature, where necessary. The Director leads the Institute’s international relations initiatives, in close consultation with the Chair of the Directorate.

The Council for Polar Science and Technology Programmes

This Council assists the Directorate to fulfil its aims to achieve the Institute’s missions. It gives advice and recommendations on:

  • the scientific or technological value of terrestrial scientific projects submitted to the Institute,
  • the implementation of these projects and land-based campaigns assigned to the Institute,
  • the Institute’s scientific and technical activities,
  • the Institute’s policy for international scientific and logistical cooperation.

The advice of this Council should be in line with national strategies for research. The CPST consists of 16 members, including the chair of the Polar Environment Committee (created by decree n° 93-740 of 29 March 1993), ex-officio member, and 15 members appointed by the Directorate including:

  • five from among the players in programmes carried out in polar regions, chosen for their expertise, preferably not in charge of any French Polar Institute -supported project; one proposed by each of the Group’s five Member organizations (CNRS, IFREMER, Météo France, CNES, CEA),
  • ten put forward by the Minister for Research: five French specialists in the major scientific fields involved in the Institute’s missions and five foreign specialists.

Council members are appointed for a four-year term, renewable once. They exercise their mandate free of charge.